March Sunrise

It’s been a long winter. I’m just sure there are daffodils beneath the two feet of snow we have remaining. The Prius has been buried for months and is finally melting out from beneath the white layer. We have been driving the Highlander for many months. All wheel drive is helpful in this part of the country. I guess I shouldn’t complain, at least we don’t have a nor-easter threatening us. No significant snow is forecast, just warmer weather and a little rain.

I’ve been busy packing away heavy winter coats, but 40 degrees and melting isn’t warm enough for shorts and flip-flops.  I am looking forward to a terrific Hawaiian vacation in a few months. I am happy to say my neighborhood deer have survived the long winter days. A neighbor who boards horses shares their food, but at times I wanted to invite the deer inside to warm up. They often seek shelter beneath a backyard pine. I fell in love with “Baby Black Ears” and some of the others I came to recognize.

Here is a winter image of downtown Whitefish. The ski area has had a tremendous year with a total snowfall of 378 inches. The current settled base at the top is 124 inches, so there will be great spring skiing.

Below is a early morning photo of the ski area taken with my cell phone from my deck near downtown Whitefish and a telephoto of a view near the summit in the evening. The winters are beautiful but difficult for the wildlife. I’m ready for springtime sun and flowers.

Thanks for stopping by.

 

About bettykuffel

Author and retired medical doctor with broad interests in writing, flying, photography and outdoor life. She is a monthly health columnist in Montana Woman Magazine and has three nonfiction Indie published books available on Amazon. Writing projects include: multiple books of fiction including a biological thriller, medical thriller series, a romantic intrigue and a mystery set in 1960 co-authored with her sister Bev. Dr. Kuffel lives in MT with husband Tom and dog Valkyrie.
This entry was posted in Deer, Skiing, Snow, Spring and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

